Siobhan Mattison.jpg

Siobhán Mattison

Lab Director

Siobhán is an anthropologist and biologist with interests in evolution, behavioral ecology, kinship, reproduction, demography, health, social inequality, and quantitative and mixed methods. She works in economically transitioning societies in China and Vanuatu to understand the evolutionary causes and consequences of inequality, reproductive skew, sex-biased parental investment, adoption and fosterage, and health behaviors. (CV) (Email)


Kyle J. Clark

Postdoctoral Scholar, since 2022

Kyle's research interests lie at the intersection of kinship, religion, and altruism, especially in Borneo and Vanuatu. Currently, he seeks to understand the evolutionary underpinnings that shape patterns and practices of adoption and fosterage in Vanuatu. (Email)


Daniela Kraemer

Research Assistant Professor, since 2022

Daniela is an Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Anthropology Department at the University of New Mexico, as well as an Adjunct Anthropology Lecturer at Wilfred Laurier University in Waterloo Canada. She earned her Ph.D. at the London School of Economics. Her ethnographic research focuses on urban social transformation and ways of being urban in Port Vila, Vanuatu a South Pacific nation. She investigates the many ways peoples’ social relationships with family, neighbors, partners, and ‘place’ become transformed in Port Vila, which is a relatively new urbanizing context. In the HFED Lab, she works on issues related to fertility transition. (Email) (Personal website)

Ruizhe Liu.jpg

Ruizhe (Rachel) Liu

Graduate Student, since 2019

Ruizhe is a PhD student in anthropology. She once majored in Archaeology, and now she is interested in the effects of identity on in-group versus out-group cooperation. She also focuses on human behavioral ecology and material culture of ethinic groups in China. She earned her MA in 2021 and is supported by an NSF REG. (Email)


Md. Khaled Bin Oli Bhuiyan

Graduate Student, since 2022

Khaled is a PhD candidate in Evolutionary Anthropology at the UNM. His PhD research focuses on how cultural, gendered, and religious societal norms affect health outcomes and care ethics, and shape professional values in hospital settings. He earned his undergraduate and MA degrees in anthropology from Jahangirnagar University. (Email)

Former members

Darragh Hare (University of Oxford) (2018-2019, postdoc)

Chun-Yi Sum (University of Rochester) (2016-18, postdoc)

Edmond Seabright (Currently Research & Education Fellow, School of Collective Intelligence,) (PhD co-chair with Hilly Kaplan, 2015-2022)

Adam Reynolds (Currently PhD Student at UNM) (2016-2022, Chair, Stepped down in 2022)

Eric Massengill (Non-Academic) (Co-Chair with Hilly Kaplan, 2016-2018)

Hannah MacDonald (Non-Academic) (2016-2018)

Mattie Dunn (Currently in JD Program) (2018-2021, magna cum laude)

Gabrielle D'Angelo Baca (2018-2021)

Bernardo Ubaldo Seixas (2018-2021, summa cum laude); Supported by NSF REU

Elizabeth Medina-Romero (2019-2021, cum laude); Supported by McNair and ROC

Megan Gutierrez (2018-2021)


Bridget Chak (University of Chicago) 2015-2016: Supported by UROP

Hanying Mao (Columbia University) 2015-2016 


Jingzhe (Bill) Cao (Princeton University) 2015-2016: Supported by UROP

Collaborators, current and past

Bret Beheim (Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology)

Tami Blumenfield (Furman University) 

Monique Borgerhoff Mulder (UC Davis)

Melissa J. Brown (Harvard University) 


Emily K. Brunson (Texas State University, San Marcos) 


Peter Buston (Boston University)


Ethan Cochrane (University of Auckland)


Nicole Creanza (Vanderbilt)


Bria Dunham (Boston University, Sargent College) 


Marcus W. Feldman (Stanford University) 


Bruce Floyd (University of Auckland) 


Masako Fujita (Michigan State University)


Simone Gill (Boston University) 


Binglin Gong (Fudan University)


Raymond Hames (University of Nebraska) 


Katie Hinde (Arizona State University) 


Darryl J. Holman (University of Washington) 


Oren Kolodny (Stanford University)


Judith Littleton (University of Auckland) 


Cristina Moya (UC Davis)

Dawn B. Neill (California Polytechnic State University) 


David Nolin (Penn State)


Mary K. Shenk (Penn State)


Brooke Scelza (UCLA)

Rebecca Sear (LSHTM) 


Eric Alden Smith (University of Washington)


Julie Spray (University of Auckland)


Mary Towner (Oklahoma State University)


Susanna Trnka (University of Auckland)

Katherine Wander (Binghamton University)


Peter Buston (Boston University; Faculty Mentor)


Karen Warkentin (Boston University; Faculty Mentor)

James Traniello (Boston University; Faculty Mentor)

Melissa Brown (Stanford University, now Harvard Yenching Inst.; Postdoctoral Supervisor)

Marcus W. Feldman (Stanford University; Postdoctoral Supervisor)


Matthew Sommer (Stanford University; Postdoctoral Supervisor)


Eric Alden Smith (University of Washington; Dissertation Supervisor)


Donna Leonetti (University of Washington; Dissertation Advisor)


Stevan Harrell (University of Washington; Dissertation Advisor)


Shelly Lundberg (University of Washington, now UCSB; Graduate Student Representative)


Tom Seeley (Cornell University; Undergraduate Honors Advisor)